Barrett’s birth. 

Barrett was born on Thursday July 2 at 5:24pm. He weighed 7lbs 8.5oz and was 19.5in long. In true third child fashion he decided to come on his own terms–2 weeks early, and by c section… The fact that he was 2 weeks early was fantastic! C section, not so much.. If you follow me on Instagram you probably saw my post a few weeks ago about him being breech. I did everything I could to make him turn. Chiropractor, crazy positions/stretches, swimming… Everything I saw on the Internet or heard had worked for someone else, I tried… B wasn’t budging. He would move all around and then settle right back into his head in my ribs, legs/butt in my pelvis position. It was a really hard two weeks. I wanted him to turn so bad, but I also knew God was in control, had me and Barrett in His hands, and knew exactly what was best for his delivery.. I just wanted His will to line up with my desires so bad! {just an FYI for any other breech mamas out there… spinningbabies.com was a great resource that I utilized a ton!} 

When I went to the doctor at 36 weeks she confirmed that he was breech. I left the office crying. I went in for my 37 week regular visit, he hadn’t flipped. I left the office crying. I went in for my 38 week regular visit and knew he still hadn’t flipped. I really thought I’d be fine at that appointment but then the minute I walked into the office I got a lump in my throat and just wanted to cry.. The combination of the fear I had about a c section with my 38 week pregnancy hormones… Yeah, there were a lot of tears. Poor Justin! The nurse practitioner did a pelvic exam at the appointment and after a good minute she said, hang on, don’t move and walked out of the exam room. She came back in a minute later with the dr who also did an exam… He took one look at me and said he hoped I was ready to meet my baby because i was 4cm, in early labor and needed to head straight to the hospital for a c section. It was the strangest mix of emotions. I was so excited that I would meet Barrett in a matter of hours, but also super scared about the c section. There was talk about going home for my bags and the doctor said I didn’t have time for that even and to get over to the hospital right away. Talk about overwhelming! Thankfully Justin’s mom had our big kids so I didn’t have to worry about them at all! Justin however was an hour away, halfway up a tree building a deer stand with his dad. I texted him as I was getting my clothes back on, “You need to come now. Sending me to labor and delivery.” And then called him after walking out to tell him what all had just gone down. He was just as shocked as I was and was coming in a hurry! I arrived at the hospital around 3:00pm and the next 2.5 hours were kind of a blur… 

I got into a bed on the labor and delivery floor, hooked up to monitors for contractions and B’s heart rate, got my IV started and signed all the paper work for the c section. It was so strange because it felt so much like the beginning of Hatcher’s birth, but I knew the whole process would be so different. Justin arrived and I was soo happy to see him! We processed together what was happening and spent a lot of time texting/calling family and friends to let them all know! The response from everyone was an overwhelming “WHAT?!?” Barrett was taking everyone by surprise :) Meanwhile my contractions were picking up and getting closer together. The doctor came in and did a quick ultrasound to verify everything and try to get an idea of B’s position. Once that was done, they suited Justin up and we headed down to the OR…  

   
By this time my contractions were strong and coming about every minute. I never got checked, but I was getting close. Had Barrett been head down I think he would have been born pretty quickly either way. He was ready, I was hurting! The c section went well and I was so thankful when he was out and healthy!  

 Apparently his position was pretty tricky and it took the doctors some time to figure out the best way to get him out. I am so thankful for doctors and that c sections are an option. It was the last thing I ever wanted, but without it I’m not sure we’d have a healthy Barrett, and for that it was 1000% worth it. My prayers for him to turn were not answered, but God was so faithful and good in answering so many of my other prayers and giving me a peace beyond my own understanding during the whole process.. It was definitely a different delivery than I wanted and anticipated, and I think it will be a while before I have truly processed all of it, but I am so thankful for it. The Lord drew me to Him in some really special ways that I will forever be grateful for!

   
   

  

  

  

  

  

I love you Barrett Brooks, to the moon and back.  

    
    
 

One Comment on “Barrett’s birth. ”

  1. What a roller coaster of emotions, I can imagine! I love your outlook and positive perspective. I’m super scared of also needing a c-section and know I’ll have to rely on the Lord for strength to get through it. You’re a tough mama! Enjoy those newborn cuddles. Love you!


Leave a Reply

