THE Christmas cookie.

I remember a specific sugar cookie that my mom made at Christmas… I’m sure we had them on other occasions, but I mainly  remember them in red and green at Christmas time. I wanted to do something for the teachers I work with every day, so I decided to try my hand at these famous sugar cookies.. I’m usually more of a fan of chocolate chip rather than sugar cookies but these are seriously some of my favorites!

I think they were a hit with the teachers too :) Here’s the recipe…

For the cookies:

1 cup of butter

1.5 cups of powdered sugar

2.5 cups of flour

1 tsp. of baking soda

1 tsp. cream of tarter

1 egg

1 tsp. of vanilla

Mix the wet ingredients and then add the dry. Chill for several hours, roll them out and cut into any shape you want… Unfortunately my Christmas cookie cutters are packed away in a box somewhere, so I had to get resourceful and use a cup:) Bake at 350 for 6-8 minutes.

For the icing:

16 oz of powdered sugar

1 stick of margarine {not butter}

Dash of salt

1 tsp. of vanilla

2-3 tbsp of milk

I’ll admit that my presentation wasn’t the most creative… but at 36 weeks pregnant my creative juices just aren’t what they used to be…. Maybe next time.

Merry Christmas!

Now go make you some delicious cookies and enjoy

:)

One Comment on “THE Christmas cookie.”

  1. i just made these!! they are AWESOME!!! definatly saving them for future reference and traditional cookie recipe!! yuummmmy


Leave a Reply

